Some people believe that government should spend money on new building rather than renovating existing building. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government spending has always been a debatable issue especially with the constructions. While the government spends their money for constructing new buildings can result in various advantages such as population emigration and local city activation, renovating existing buildings can be beneficial financially. In my perspective, while I understand that the constructing of new buildings can provide various important facilities that can encourage people to move between cities, renovating buildings can be financially saved and which money can be used for the better communities.

To begin with, construction of new buildings produces economy to grow. The possibility of withdrawing people from outer cities to inner modernized cities can lead to economic enhancement due to enjoy the modern and cleaner look of cities. With the cleaner environments, people can enjoy more of atmosphere and they can feel more attached to the areas. Since more people are coming into this newer area, the more economic growth can be expected and this will become a metropolitan area. Thus, it can help to an economic growth.

In contrast, the economic growth can also be achieved by renovating the existing buildings. A renovation will be cheaper than constructing for the newer buildings and which saved money can be used to construct public facilities for their entertainment and relaxation reasons. For example, constructing fees for the government to develop a city, in case of Perth, budgeted for more than $30 billion to design Perth city to be having a modernized look. However, in the case of Melbourne city, they renovated their cities every year because of wear and tear; the money saved from the unnecessary constructions can be used to improve public health systems. From these two cities comparisons, we can conclude that the governmental budgets can be used to renovate so that other public benefits can be entitled.

In conclusion, the budgeted money from the government to be used on creating new buildings in the areas can have short term attractiveness from the public despite the financial issues. Therefore, the amount of money spent on newer buildings and renovation should be monitored and watched closely to prevent any impulsive spending.