A lot of people are bilingual these days thus learning a foreign language could be advantageous in a lot of ways. It is often argued that people study a different language for travel and job purposes in another state whereas others think that these are not the only reasons. This essay will discuss more reasons as to why learning a different language can be beneficial.

Learning a foreign language helps one to avail better job opportunities and to travel around the world. A study shows people that are bilingual have a higher tendency to get a job than the rest that only speaks one language. For instance, these days a lot of companies hire people for translation jobs and some people do it part-time along with their permanent employment. Thus, it is easy to see why people study another language.

However, the idea that these are the only reasoning is completely unjustified. People tend to study a foreign language out of personal interest and a desire to learn about different cultures for which they can travel abroad and study there. For example, if one wants to know more about Chinese traditions and culture they can go to China, study Chinese and get along Chinese people to know all about it. Additionally, a research carried out by Harvard University students interpret that children that are bilingual are smarter and have fewer behaviour problems. These reasons alone show why learning another language is important and can be valuable.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language can not just be profitable for work and travel but it can be effective in a lot of other ways too.