It is often argued that children who are given freedom to make their everyday choices such as what to wear, eat or watch will contribute to a community of selfish human beings, whereas others think that it is more crucial for youngsters to make their own preferences. This essay will elaborate on both the aspects and will also explain why it is more beneficial for kids to make their own decisions.

One primary reason not to let children do whatever they want to do and too much freedom can lead them to grow into self-centred being. Not only will they have behavioural issues but they will also have a tough time to get along with folks. It is a common opinion that people who are immensely self-absorbed do not respect others and find it complicated to make friends. Thus, it is evident some parents think that too much independence/autonomy should not be given to youth.

On the other hand, it is essential for kids to make their own decisions, which I also personally believe that not only is it helpful but also it is necessary for child growth and development. Making one's own choices from a young age teaches them responsibility1. One research article suggests that juveniles who were given the freedom regarding their own decisions contribute to making more mature and sensible choices than that of their restricted counterparts. Therefore, it is excessively effective to allow juniors to make their own selections.

In conclusion, the matter of permitting and restricting children regarding their own decisions has both its benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, making choices of their own is advantageous for adolescents.