Learning a foreign language can be advantageous in a lot of ways. It is thought that people tend to learn other languages than their mother tongue for travel and work purposes while others say these are not the only reasons. This essay will discuss both the views in detail and will also give other causes to why people learn foreign languages.

People learn foreign languages to avail better employment opportunities and for tourism purposes. Learning a foreign language will not only help the person increase their knowledge but also it helps them have a better command of communication skills with other people from different countries. These days a lot of people take translation jobs as their part-time job which helps them earn an extra penny alongside their permanent job.

Learning another language could be beneficial in other ways too. A study shows that children that are bilingual are smarter and have fewer behaviour issues than those who speak only one language. Thus, some schools curriculum also make it compulsory to learn a second language. Also, some people have a personal interest in learning different languages so they can learn about other people and their cultures. I also strongly believe one should learn another language not just for work or travel but also to read more books, learn about different cultures.

To summarize, learning a foreign language helps a person improve in a lot of ways and not just for good jobs and travel purposes