Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Acquiring the compotency to speak a foreign language, especially English, is vital important for people in 21 centry due to a frequent contact between contries. As to the reason why people learn a venarcular, some people assert that the sole reason is for traveling or working; whereas, others oppose this view. This essay will discuss both views. However, I think people learn a foreign either with interest or under mandatory.

To begin with, proficient in a foreign language is a prerequisite for traveling or working abroad; but work or travel is not the fundamental reason that people learn the foreign language. To travel in a foreign country necessitates a basic capability to communicate in native language. Besides, exhibiting an ability of proficient foreign language is a requisite to work in the foreign country. For instance, employees from overseas must ace a band score of 6 in ielts, if he want to work in Australia. Actually, people learn a foreign language out of various reasons, such as travel, work and interest.

Indeed, most people learn a foreign language for other reasons except for traveling or working. Acquiring a foreign language takes decades of years and majority people learn a foreign language when they are young in schools because the subject of foreign language is mandatory by educational committee. Take China for example, students begin to study English the first year of junior high school and continue to learn it through university. Another reason is that people learn a foreign because they are fascinated by the foreign culture or other reason. Japanese animation lover learn Japanese by themselves for their interest in cartoons. Therefore, a majority of people learn a foreign language through mandatory lessons in school and a minor amount of people learn a foreign language due to their fondness of foreign product, like movies.

To recapitulate, to travel or work is not the only reason that learn a foreign language, although it is a precondition to travel or work abroad. As a matter of fact, most people learn a foreign language on mandatory lessons in school.