Some people say that only the way to reduce the crime rate is to make the prison sentence longer. To what extant do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that lengthier prison time is the only way to control criminal activities. While I belive that this step would help to lower crime rate, I feel that it is not only solution available.

On the one hand, I accept longer incarceration can serve to deter potential law breakers by instilling fear in their minds. To explain, most criminals being impulsive by nature are strongly deterred by the stringent and disciplined conditions of prisons. Spending a long time provides an opportunity for the prison service to rehabilitate a prisoner. For example, someone who has committed a serious offence such as assault will need a long time in order to be sure he can be re-educated and not to re offend. Such a step could be particularly effective as they would know that the price to pay is extremely heavy and hence would think twice before acting.

On the other hand, I believe that other than long term punishment, moral education can also help bring down crime rates in the long run too. Students, from young age should be inculcated with the correct moral values, like honesty is the best policy. Parents, while busy striving in their career should take out some time to shower care and concern to thier children, for it is sometimes the lack of parental love that cause the child to go astray and commit crimes. Additionally, improving the financial state of people could do wonders, as it is the pecuniary conditions that often motivate crime. As a result, government can work to sort out employment scenario and to rein in the rising inflation

In conclusion, although increasing the span of jail sentence could be an effective measure, educational and financial reforms can also be used as potent tools to tackle this issue.