Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child‘s development.
However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most
significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.
Human development is a complex interplay of many factors. Some individuals are of
the opinion that parents have the most significant role in a child‘s development
whereas others opine that friends and other environmental factors such as TV have
a more important role. It is necessary to look at both arguments before forming an
opinion.
Parents have direct interactions with the children. They provide a sense of
identification to the child. These have their greatest effect on intellectual
development and character traits. They also play a very important role in the
socializing process of the child. Right from the bed time stories to the behavioral
habits parents play a very important role in making a child a responsible citizen.
They know their child‘s temperament better than anyone else. They can provide
critical input better than anyone else. That is why it is believed by some that parents
have the strongest role in a child‘s development.
Friends, on the other hand, are important in order to help children grow emotionally
and socially. Children find out who they are by comparing themselves to others.
They learn about attitude, character and personality. Building good relationships
boosts a child‘s self esteem and they find comfort in those friendships when things
get tough such as losing a pet or facing family problems. Therefore, friendships are
essential to assure children develop a healthy psyche. When kids are surrounded by
friends or have one close friend, they have better self esteem, feel a sense of well
being and experience fewer social problems.
Television is also one of the most prevalent media influences in kids' lives. How
much impact TV has on children depends on many factors: how much they watch,
their age and personality, whether they watch alone or with adults, and whether their
parents talk with them about what they see on TV.
In my opinion, we cannot generalize as to what has more significance. In the early
years family generally has more impact but in adolescence peers and TV may
impact more. It appears that the power of the peer group becomes more important
when the family relationships are not close or supportive. For example, if the parents
work extra jobs and are largely unavailable, their children may turn to their peer
group for emotional support.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that behavior is affected by a complex
interaction of many different factors such as parents, peers and environment. All
these are inextricably linked in the development of children. There is individual
variation and therefore it is difficult to generalize which factor plays the most
significant role.