Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Originally, technologies are said to have been created to make people’s lives easier. however, decades later, this idea has become a concern, leading to worries that such devices as phones or laptops are breaking communications apart within society. this essay agrees that technological marvels have become more of an entertainment for people rather than a tool to ease their troubles in their daily routines, although these “toys” have the full capacity of making distant people closer to one another within a click of a button.

First and foremost, the creation of computers was planned to fire the torch of advancement where people were thought to pioneer the world of the unknown. however, from the moment of commercialisation of the technology they were branded and customer-driven devices, meaning full dependency on what a client dictates. In turn, it led to the creation of more games and discrepancies of media-orientated tools to browse them. I understand that a device should have all the conveniences of a modern era, yet these very distractions take up far too much of our time, resulting in us making less contact with our friends, family and close people. modern apps such as TikTok, Instagram or YouTube are prime examples of such marvels where people spend most of their time and effort.

another sad part of it is that, despite having all these entertaining apps and whatnot, these devices are more than capable of connecting people disregarding the miles between the two. take Zoom or Skype as an example; during pandemics, these apps unburdened not only heavy loads of business-related companies but also did so with almost all educational institutions across the world.

To sum it up, Innovations are meant to facilitate the lives of millions and bring comfort into their daily lives by making them feel closer however much apart they are. disregarding these may only be equal to losing oneself in virtual life and disabling real connections we have.