Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, They should not be held accountable for the environmental and social cost of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do no more than concentrate on making a profit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

When companies face the issue of capitalistic and environmental viewpoints, opinions are divided. The first mentioned assumes the priority of companies as their profit, while the opposite one supposes that as a negative impact, not only to surroundings but also to company’s social rating. In this essay, I will discuss my position toward holding accountable for the effect on the environment.

First of all, green issues are on the top of the green political agenda, and firms that evince care of nature by limiting pollution, encouraging recycling, are favorably appreciated by society. Therefore this approach in addition to being environmentally friendly gives the company high status over others. Moreover, caring not only about green issues but also about the social environment could take their marketability to the next level, in view of economic reward.

Switching to the only-profit strategy, at first look, seems advantageous. To support, should more companies focus on maximum income, with the rise of GDP, they may elevate the country’s economy. Although, this is regarded to be a short-term benefit and especially risky, as they may find themselves subject to negative social reactions. In the other words, organizations integrating their business activity with environmental regard are more likely to see their successful future.

To recapitulate, businesses should not bury their head in the sand when it comes to surrounding regard. Although it might look advantageous at first sight for the economy, it is better to keep awareness of environmental and social stance toward green issues. If these factors are considered, companies even can boost their revenues.