Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only

for entertainment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that television is beneficial for education, while others think it is useful for entertainment only. While some educational programs are likely to broaden people’s minds, I completely agree that other shows are of no educational value to the majority of viewers.

On the one hand, people can be educated through a variety of educational shows. It cannot be denied that viewers stand a chance to learn about different cultures through cultural presentations or study more about wildlife through some documentaries. In addition, quiz shows are available to open people’s minds about many aspects of life. One interesting report in Vietnam revealed that students who watched the show “Ring the Bell” performed 60% better than those who did not because they had a chance to practice their knowledge by answering questions on the show. However, I do not agree that these educational programs represent most of the TV genres.

On the other hand, multiple game shows and movies are available 24/7 that do not require people to think critically. The fact is that TV programs are aimed at people of different ages, so they are designed to match the common interests and intelligence of viewers that are not educational. For example, due to the fact that kids and seniors are not interested in grabbing any knowledge through watching TV, programs tend to focus more on cartoons as well as sitcoms, resulting in audiences’ less intelligence after watching them. Consequently, I agree that for most people, TV shows are only useful for relaxing only.

In conclusion, despite the fact that TV can be a good source of knowledge, most of the TV programs only bring pleasure to viewers, which are not informative at all to them.