Some people say that there should be a single official international language. Others oppose to this idea. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Imagine a world where everyone speaks a universal language. That would be very interesting although there are concerns over whether this can harm local language.

It is understandable why some people want to have an international official language. Take English for example, if you can speak English well, you can go anywhere on Earth. It is the most popular language till now. Besides, having a common language will enable trade and exchange between nations. It also helps promoting local culture and traditions as well as values to the world. Having a common language encourages mutual understanding and thus promotes friendship and prevents wars. People in developing countries can catch up with the developed one in term of knowledge and technologies.

On the other hand, some people say that having a single international language will discourage people using their local language. Nowadays, young people are more and more fluent in a second language. They are more exposed to Western culture as a result of internet and an ability to comprehend a second language. The young generations are more influenced by Western values the more they are exposed to it. This is a result of movies, music and books but language also plays an important role. Universal language will affect the diversity of cultures and traditions.