Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is the statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Nowadays tourism is considered one of the major industries in the countries. Many people are arguing about the negative aspects that tourists may impact both culture and environment, and how tourists will help in the drawbacks of these effects. Recognition the reasons for the existence of this problem makes it easier to solve.

Firstly, the stunning views and wildlife have been sought after by many tourists from all over the world and therefore, the numbers of tourists have increased each year, and these travellers sometime affect the environment in harmful way such as throwing their plastic materials everywhere they go in the beach and by the river banks or inside the forests. For example, according to research published by science nature magazine: "There are high percent of sea turtle killed by plastic bags in the coastal areas in US every year as a result of tourists behavior". In addition, some tourists behave in a rude way when they visit other country. For example, I remember when I was in ancient Damascus in 2010 I saw some backpackers who made fun of sellers that tried to buy some traditional clothes, I guess they imagined us as dumb people and tried to neglect our emotions and feelings.

However, before anything else the government must aware the visiting foreigners about the rules and regulations before they apply for a visitor visa so that our beliefs remain intact. Also they should use reusable containers or throw their plastic things in the recycling pin. That is to say; tourist must follow the idea that said: "Each foreigner have to be polite."

In conclusion, tourism is massive these days, so it may affect the health of environments and the values of culture, but adding rules that tell the tourists how to deal with this issue is more effective. In my opinion, tourists should follow the rules and regulations of the country they are visiting. They must obey the countries laws and respect the sentiments of people.