It is often a highly contentious issue that the tourism industry has made some adverse effects on tourist destination, regardless of its extremely economic booms. There could be some attendant risks posed to the local culture, and the environment, and could be canceled out with a few measures which I will discuss in this essay.

On the one hand, many people believe that international tourist may impose grave challenges on the tourist destinations. These range from cultural invasion to environmental issues. Firstly, the influx of foreign travelers from different cultural backgrounds is often associated with a gradual change in the local cuisine, garments, and traditions. While trying to attract more visitors, the indigenous individuals focus mainly on the international lifestyle to lessen the problem of the cultural shock to the travelers. This may result in local residents adopting new traits and behaviors to keep up with visitors, leading progressively to major changes in social standards and local traditions. Furthermore, increased tourists may raise the odds of environmental degradation, eventually causing health hazards for the residents. For instance, there might be growing demands for transportation which may induce traffic congestion, air, and noise pollution.

On the other hand, it is true that not only can the local authorities take measures to mitigate such detrimental impacts, and foreign travelers should assume responsibility for potential protecting ways. Have travelers encouraged to establish close relation with local cuisine, garments and participate in the local rituals, residents would have persuaded to present more cultural values. This may help to preserve traditional music, art, food, and costume. Moreover, while enjoying natural resources and landscapes, tourists should be aware of the ways to protect the environment. With using public transport in big cities, they simply contribute to improving such consequences as air and noise pollution.

Overall, international tourists are mainly criticized due to adverse effects on the local culture and environment. However, an effective response by travelers to respect cultural contexts, and protect the environment may lessen the severity of the situation.