Some people say watching TV is bad for children in all ways, others say it is good for children to get knowledge. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over recent years, it can be observed that television serves as the major source for information gain among children who are unaware of using internet. Few people argue that allowing children to watch tv might have negative effects, while others are of the opinion that it helps children in gaining knowledge. Both sides of the argument present rational ideas, which will be elaborated.

On the one hand, some people believe that children should be allowed to watch TV for various reasons. First and foremost, they help children to be updated in current affairs. To illustrate, media shows all kinds of global news which helps children to understand what’s going on in society and the various advancements that are being made. Secondly, visual representations have a great impact, and this makes learning easier. For example, as we are aware of the famous quote “pictures speak louder than words”, by watching movies they can learn and understand languages easily.

On the other hand, many people point out that the disadvantages of watching TV outweigh the advantages. One of the major concern among the people who doesn’t support watching tv is child’s health. They believe that allowing children to watch television from the very young age might impact their eyesight. These days children of 10 years age group are also wearing spectacles which was not common in the past. Also, children may get addicted to watch television and therefore refuse to go out and play with their fellow. Sitting at one place and watching tv for hours makes them weak due to lack of physical activities. In addition to this, children might tend to practice what they see. For example, watching their favourite superhero jump off a building or fighting goons may inspire them to try these stunts which might have adverse effects.

In conclusion, although I agree that TV provides children with knowledge, I believe there are more drawbacks when compared to benefits. In order to lower the negative effects, parents should take responsibility by limiting the amount of time children watch TV. Moreover, parents should try to make sure that children watch TV under their supervision and only few channels should be accessible.