Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern world, knowing more than one language or learning other dialect can help us understand easily and improves our communication skills as well. Over recent years, there are number of arguments on making this language learning compulsory at primary education level rather than secondary. This essay will focus on both benefits and drawbacks of the mentioned issue.

To begin with, introducing foreign language learning at primary level helps children communicate with people in other country during international travel. To illustrate, often parents take their kids to tours on international trips and children will not be able to understand what they’re speaking and they can’t enjoy as we do. So, in order to overcome this problem it is beneficial to introduce foreign language learning at very starting stage of their education. Also, learning a foreign language at this stage will make children perfectionists and when they try to speak in that language they might feel it very easy in future. Moreover, it enhances the overall communication skills of individual.

However, there are few disadvantages of this approach. Opponents of this argument claim that if such learning is made mandatory then there is a chance of educational institutions to cash this situation. In order to earn money they impose very high fee and this will affect poor children who will not be able to manage the payment. Another major drawback is this rule can stress out students. For example, children at this age should spend their time in learning basic lessons and should not strain themselves dedicating more time on these additional learnings.

To sum up, I believe that the advantages of this like enhancing child’s communication skills outweigh any other disadvantages. Both parents and educational institutions should work collectively to ensure that such measure is made mandatory for the betterment of the individual and society as well.