Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Printed newspaper has played an important role of knowledge provider since many decades ago. However, it is argued that this kind of newspaper should be abandoned. This essay solely agrees with the above idea. This essay will first make discussion about the environmental issues relating to the production of traditional newspaper, and then talk about how inconvenient it is compared to another type of information provider namely Internet.

It is suggested that the production of this type of newspaper has provoked debates throughout a decade due to its related-environmental effects. The production of traditional newspaper requires woods by cutting down trees in forest which caused deforestation and floods in many places in the world. Furthermore, it takes a great deal of money to maintain manufacturing and requires high level of energy to run the production chains leading to pollutant emissions such as carbon dioxide gas, nitrous gas, nitrogen dioxide gas, and so on. This is the reason why many nations have to shut down its production chains to protect the ecosystem. Japan is a prime example where its government had permanently forbidden traditional newspaper which results in the reduction of 40% cutting trees and 34% the amount of detrimental gases since 2017.

On the one hand, many assumptions have made comparison of how convenient it is between printed newspaper and online newspaper recently. In the technology era, most of information is encoded into data and is transferred to the Internet which leading to a new solution to store information and knowledge compared to traditional method like printed newspaper. With regards to convenience, people show their interests in reading online newspaper because it brings limitless in-depths knowledge to human world by a click of mouse and a great deal of information is always updated instantly. A survey carried out by Vietnamese government illustrated that over 87% of teenagers using online newspaper to update their knowledge daily instead of printed method.

In conclusion, the awareness of environmental problems should be a primary factor to consider traditional newspaper as a harmful issue which should be forbidden. Moreover, in terms of convenience, online newspaper is favored by the world over the printed one.