Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought argues that traditional newspapers are no longer necessary due to the advent of online news. Although Internet-based newspapers are indeed superior to printed versions, I believe that conventional news still plays a vital role in society.

On the one hand, there are two major reasons why many people eschew printed publications in favor of digital ones. Firstly, it is time-saving to acquire information online. News update on e-paper is much faster than traditional ones, provided with vivid images and videos. In contrast, printed materials are only published at certain times of the day and people need to buy them in person in newsstands. Secondly, it is free of charge to read news on the Internet. Most Internet-based publications charge people via advertisements on their websites, so viewers do not have to pay to read news which discourages people from buying conventional newspapers.

On the other hand, it seems to me that printed papers can not be dispensed with. One reason is that not everyone prefers online newspapers. For example, the elerly can not stay before the screen for a long time due to their bad vision and tend to feel more familiar with conventional publications. Furthermore, printed newspapers are not only a means of delivering information but a tradition. The image of enjoying a cup of tea with a newspaper on their hand has long been iconic in many films and books and become a habit of many people. Therefore, although people do not update news from traditional publications anymore, they still buy one annually.

In conclusion, it is indisputable that the pros of digital news outweigh that of the printed version, I contend that the roles of traditional newspapers are unreplaceable.