Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Other believe that the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the content of TV programs or the length of time spent on watching TV has a more impact on children. While children might be affected by what they watch, I would argue that the amount of time influence more on them.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why children could be affected by the content of TV programs. First, children who are still immature easily imitate undesirable behaviors, such as violence or drug abuse which sometimes depicted in movies, without being aware of any consequences. For example, children might fall under the impression that the use of alcoholic drinks is fashionable and end up consuming this substance. Second, as young viewers find it easy to be swayed by captivating advertisements for junk food or video games, they might pester their parents to buy these goods impulsively. This could cause selfish behaviors in children.

On the other hand, I believe that children’s behaviors are influenced most by the length of time they spend watching TV. One reason is that children who spend much time in front of screens could be reluctant to do outdoor exercise. This sedentary lifestyle is detrimental to their health, making them more prone to the risk of developing some type of diseases such as obesity or rickets. Additionally, excessively watching TV could lead to less time children spend on social activities. This would discourage children from having real interaction with people around them. As a result, children’s social skills could be impaired.

In conclusion, although the content of TV programs might be harmful to children, I strongly believe that the length of time has more impact on the way children behave.