Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programs and films about it than by actually visiting it. How true is this statement? Is there anything you can learn by watching programs and films about it?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

It is sometimes said that visiting a nation in real life is not as practical as observing it through the small screen. From my perspective, this statement is partly true and coming to a country actually can bring a significant amount of information that we can not gain by watching programmes and films.

On the one hand, it is undoubtedly true that films and programmes like documentary is more friendly to the poor as people and easily approach on TV. Therefore that is one of the main reason why TV programmes and films are made. The information about a country can be briefly and adequately shown via documentaries or real life shows. Except for those who spend months or years abroad, people normally can not discover all of the aspects about one country's lifestyle which are displayed on TV. Moreover, for example, there are some real life shows so far that a group of people from the programmes themselves go visiting on a tour to many countries. All of the events will be recorded and broadcasted on TV which brings a novel experience to the observers.

On the other hand, an actual visit to a country can bring something that we can not learn through the media. Experiencing on our own can help us know more about the actual life there. Throughout tjhe trip, many hidden secrets will be revealed about lives and people. For example, the USA is known worldwide by its developed economy and a high standard of living, but within the country, so many Americans are living in poverty. The dark sides of a country are often not mentioned in social media so that the country itself will not lose the reputaion to the tourists.

In conclusion, while TV programmes and films can provide almost everything about a country, witnessing the actual country by visiting it can also be taken into account.