Some people say that zoos have no useful purpose. Others believe that zoos are beneficial in many ways. Discuss and give your opinion.

Recently, people argue whether advantages of zoos are no longer or not. In my opinion, I think zoos shoud be abolished because it causes various negatives for animal.

On the one hand, zoos are still a good way of entertainment for some people because of its education, especially for children. Firstly, they can raise their awareness of vital roles of animals as well as environment throughout extra-curricular activities in zoos. By seeing campaignes for environmental protection, people might perceive the environment as a friend, who need looking after carefully for the long-lasting and sustainable development, rather than a tool for people to exploit severely. Besides, zoos are interactive and attractive places to gain the knowledge about animals. For example, when children feed horses, they can observe eating process of horses and discover what kind of edible glass for horses.

Although these opinions are justifiable, the opponents still believe that zoos are not essential because they present the bad ways we treat to animals. Slaughtering animals is the first reason to argue. Most animals originated in natural habitats with diversity of characteristics. Animals live in the zoos for a long time may lose their original traits, which makes them unvaluable for human’s knowledge. Diseases of animals can be considered another impacts. Animals can get some psychological disorders when seperated from natural environment; they also feel sad, lonley as people. Also, refining animals together could spread some diseases among them once an individual is infected.

In conclusion, some people may consider zoos an useful recreational activity; however, I am convinced that we can entertain and learn by many ways, except for those that are harmful to animals.