Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the majority of countries have imported their food. A highly controversial issue today relates to whether nations should generate sources of food locally or not. In this essay, I will examine why producing food that relies on national sources is vital to ensuring and controlling food security moderately.

For a prolonged period, countries worldwide have been importing varieties of food from other countries. To begin with, some sectors of society believe that this is the only strategy to address the expanding demand for specific products. Furthermore, importing food products that are not cultivated locally allows a government's people to experience and use them. For illustration, China is the world's greatest producer of sugar. Still, they have been importing a substantial amount of glucose to adapt to the standard eating of its ever-growing inhabitants. All in all, these several reasons have shown that acquiring products from other countries is a valuable method to tackle urgent food issues.

Regardless of the reasons mentioned above, the opinion of transitioning food products from other countries all over the world is completely inaccurate. Initially, imported foodstuffs are stored and shipped internationally, causing them to lose freshness and nutrients; meanwhile, locally cultivated produce provides fresh and new food products. Scientific Oxford University researchers have proved that local food includes about 79% fresher and healthier than imported stuff. Additionally, imported commodities allure the contemporary public attention, making it more difficult for local farmers to produce their crops and make a living, frequently forcing them into debts or unemployment. In brief, it is undeniable that exported food has brought numerous disadvantages rather than advantages.

In conclusion, people have numerous differing opinions on whether food should be generated locally or imported. However, from my perspective, I have faith that producing local food has always been an active method chiefly of governments to resolve emergency food security as soon as possible.