Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

These days the frequency of using social networking has grown beyond recognition, bringing new set of concerns with it. Most youngsters now text on a regular basis and are familiar with a variety of online platforms used for communication. Despite this, there is evidence that social isolation is inevitably rising. I agree that in lieu of helping people tight their relationships, technology has weakened social bonds.

Firstly, whenever people are using user-friendly devices, they attempt to focus on the technology and overlook what is happening around. Whereas this might help them keep in touch with others who dwell far way, in most cases they forget those in their vicinity. For instance, it is now common to notice people in restaurants and cafes who are staring at their phones instead of having conversation with each other. Moreover, although by using social networks people may express themselves in front of large online audience, ironically it is liable to keep them at home isolated. In fact, if people did not have that option, they would have chance to make more real friends, which is a much healthier way to deal with being lonely. There are reports of most parents whose children barely leave their houses due to being addicted to the Internet and therefore there is an increase in aggression from their offspings who reluctant to come offline and do outdoor activities.

Finally, even though people do meet online friends, these friendships are less likely to be strong. Unfortunately, it is not uncommon for people to be threatened by those whom they believed was a friend. The reason behind this is the internet which might disguise one’s real personality. As honesty plays a pivotal role in a good relationship, obviously this is not a good basis to meet friends.

In conclusion, I would argue that the Internet is as a means of communication for business, travel or even keep in touch with people living in distant places, however, for several reasons there is no increase in social cohesion overall.