Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Social media and virtual communication have been blamed for progressively drifting people apart. In my opinion, this problem can be attributed to various reasons which are going to be elaborated in this essay

On the one hand, it is inevitable that the benefits brought by the Internet are tremendous, however, adversely affects face-to-face communication. Because, nowadays, people can meet anyone they love just by a click as long as they get access to the Internet. This convenience, nonetheless, reduces people’s demand to see other people directly as they can still gossip, discuss or see anyone without necessarily leaving their houses. For instance, Facebook allows its users to call and see other people at the same time through the feature called face-time

On the other hand, social networking offers people greater opportunities to make more friends as it contains numerous people’s profiles on it. Specifically, it is impossible to know one’s habit or hometown just by the first time greeting. However, as most social media users update their profiles or status frequently on this kind of platform, people can certainly get basic information of most any individual before adding them to their friend lists. Therefore, high chances that they also find more people that are in common with them, which totally overshadow the conventional communication, leading people to move away from starting new relationships on the spot

To conclude, it is true that social networking or communication through screen have definitely been the norm in our society. Nevertheless, this phenomenon can take its toll on people’s traditional means of communication due to the various advantages it gives the Internet users