Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the commercial industry has been growing drastically to promote products and services to both adults and children. Some assert that any types of advertisements towards kids should be all forbidden. In my point of view, while some ads have bad influences on the young, I believe that advertising should be allowed to continue growing because of the benefits they offer.

To begin with, it is understandable why individuals want to eliminate the adverts which aim at children. Since there is an abundance of commercials on the media these days, the content of every advert cannot be fully reviewed by the authority. Therefore, in order to completely protect the kids from viewing unrated and inappropriate images or videos from ads, most parents would agree to have all advertising activities which gravitate towards children banned. Furthermore, banning these adverts could also keep the kids’ studying from distractions. Because companies usually put flashy pictures in their ads, children will keep remembering what they see and thus, they will not be able to concentrate on their study.

Fortunately, some advertisements might deliver great merits to young viewers. Firstly, since some companies’ intention is to give children useful and long-lasting messages, they will implement educational information in their adverts. Not only this benefits the sales of products but also carves knowledge into the children’s memories. Secondly, advertisements allow parents to easily find the items that their infants need. Without advertising, parents will probably have a hard time browsing in the plethora of products on the market.

In conclusion, while advertising might seem to affect children negatively in some aspects, I think that adverts aimed at kids should be permitted to continue because of several positive reasons.