Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both options and give examples.

Some would argue that having pets at home is beneficial for children whereas others say that these in-door animals are a threat to children’s health. While keeping pets makes children happy, I believe that they will have a high risk of getting injured by their own animals.

On the one hand, adorable pets, such as dogs and cats, will bring joy and comfort to any child at home. This is to say, unlike toys and dolls which are lifeless, these pets are living animals which actually interact and play with children just like their parents or peers. Therefore, they will find it more fun in the same way that they have friends who accompany them at home. For example, a study in Vietnam showed that children, who owned a cat, smiled more frequently compared to those who did not have any pets. However, I feel that children will face the risk of getting attacked by their own animals.

On the other hand, keeping pets at home means that children are in danger of being injured by these animals. Although pets are tamed and trained, they still possess their natural instinct to react to some human actions which they consider as threats and one of the most annoying habits of children is pulling animals’ fur. Hence, pets will attack and injure children when they feel abused. For instance, Cho Ray hospital in Ho Chi Minh City has reported numerous cases of children getting wounded severely while playing with their dogs at home. I believe that keeping pets can be life-threatening to children.

In conclusion, despite that a pet is a friend who brings more happiness to children, there is always a risk of them being bitten or clawed by their own dogs or cats.