Many animals are being endangered by human activities both on land and in the sea. What actions can harm the existence of animals? What can be done to prevent this?

For years, human activities have brought serious threats to many animal species living on land and in the sea. While some actions have threatened the existence of wild animals, there are also practical solutions to prevent this from happening.

To begin with, two concerning humans’ activities should be pointed out for pushing animals to the verge of extinction. On land, the expansion of residential areas due to the population’s high demand for housing has lead to a higher rate of deforestation resulting in a huge loss of habitat for numerous species in the forest. Without food supply from botanical lives, wild animals will inevitably die of starving. If such action of humans does not cease, the scarcity of living resource in large scales will become the end of many animal species. Likewise, sea creatures are being killed radically by toxic waste from humans’ factories. In China, for instance, dead fishes floating on polluted water can be easily found in the ocean areas nearby humans’ factories.

To improve such situation, several measures should be seriously considered. The first step is to encourage vertical development in major cities as these areas can no longer provide enough on-the-ground accommodations for residents. As there are no limits when stacking apartments, the high demand for housing will be sufficiently provided. As a result, deforestation for construction purpose will not be needed and thus, animals’ home is conserved. The second step is to impose strict regulations on the act of disposing waste to the ocean. More specifically, manufacturers must install a waste treatment system which helps eliminate all toxic elements from the waste in factories before dumped to the sea.

In conclusion, there are some viable ways to protect animals from the threat of humans’ activities.