Some people think that advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that government should prohibit advertisement that targets at children. I partly agree with this view because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, I believe there should be some control over advertising campaigns for children. Firstly, advertising can make children involve in a materialistic lifestyle. Indeed, some surveys have reported that if children are frequently exposed to repeated commercial breaks on TV, they are more likely to keep pestering their parents for buying things that they want. This may also lead to a financial burden put on their parents shoulders. Additionally, advert contents are not always credited, which may cause a serious misleading on children. For instance, television commercials about fast food or Coke may make children think that kinds of foods are beneficial for their health. As a result, they are more likely to consume junk food and become obesity.

On the other hand, I would argue that advertising for children is still necessary. From the commercial perspective, publicizing products on media channels is an effective marketing strategy which helps business have more customers and generate huge profits. Therefore, it seems unreasonable that if a company is not permitted to introduce their innovative products to their potential consumers. Moreover, adults should also be informed about various types of products for youngster, which in turn helps them have the best choice for their children. For example, parents should know which category of dairy is appropriate for their children when they decide to purchase this kind of product.

In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits when advertising agencies consider children as their target audience and authorities should have some measure to limit these kinds of adverts.