Some people think that all the lawbreakers should be taken into the prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives, (for example, doing some work or learning some skills in the community). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by many people that all criminals should be sent to jail, while others hold the view that there are better punishments. This essay discusses both of these views and then my perspective will be given.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for some people to think that all offenders should be put into prison. Firstly, it is obvious that all offenders are dangerous and can harm others. Therefore, they should be locked up so that they do not pose a threat to their community. Secondly, putting all lawbreakers into prison can act as an effective deterrent against commiting crime. This makes crime rates in society decrease significantly.

On the other hand, there are also reasons for some individuals to believe that there are better alternatives. One of them is that some criminals do not deserve to serve prison sentences because their offenses may not cause serious consequences. For example, authorities should be lenient on minor crimes such as petty thefts and should not sent people commiting such crimes to prison. In contrast, more serious crimes should receive more rigorous punishments than imprisonment. For instance, individuals that are guilty of murder should be given the death penalty instead of being sentenced to several years in jail.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments for both of the views mentioned above. Nevertheless, it is my opinion that other alternative punishments are better. This is because some offenders do not cause serious crimes to be put into jail while more serious criminals should receive stricter punishments than imprisionment.