Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help
the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a
whole.
Do you agree or disagree?
Many young people work on a volunteer basis, and this can only be beneficial for both the individual and society as a whole. However, I do not agree that we should therefore force all teenagers to do
unpaid work.
Most young people are already under enough pressure with their studies, without being given the
added responsibility of working in their spare time. School is just as demanding as a full-time job, and
teachers expect their students to do homework and exam revision on top of attending lessons every
day. When young people do have some free time, we should encourage them to enjoy it with their
friends or to spend it doing sports and other leisure activities. They have many years of work ahead of
them when they finish their studies.
At the same time, I do not believe that society has anything to gain from obliging young people to do
unpaid work. In fact, I would argue that it goes against the values of a free and fair society to force a
group of people to do something against their will. Doing this can only lead to resentment amongst
young people, who would feel that they were being used, and parents, who would not want to be told
how to raise their children. Currently, nobody is forced to volunteer, and this is surely the best system.
In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others, but in my opinion we should not
make this compulsory.