Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of
other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally
wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to
humanity.
Discuss both views and give your own opinion.
It is true that medicines and other products are routinely tested on animals before they are cleared for
human use. While I tend towards the viewpoint that animal testing is morally wrong, I would have to
support a limited amount of animal experimentation for the development of medicines.
On the one hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation. To use a common
example of this practice, laboratory mice may be given an illness so that the effectiveness of a new
drug can be measured. Opponents of such research argue that humans have no right to subject
animals to this kind of trauma, and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. They believe
that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused, and that scientists should use
alternative methods of research.
On the other hand, reliable alternatives to animal experimentation may not always be available.
Supporters of the use of animals in medical research believe that a certain amount of suffering on the
part of mice or rats can be justified if human lives are saved. They argue that opponents of such
research might feel differently if a member of their own families needed a medical treatment that had
been developed through the use of animal experimentation. Personally, I agree with the banning of
animal testing for non-medical products, but I feel that it may be a necessary evil where new drugs
and medical procedures are concerned.
In conclusion, it seems to me that it would be wrong to ban testing on animals for vital medical research
until equally effective alternatives have been developed.