Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

it is true that volunteer works can only be beneficial for both the personal and society as a whole, some people agree with this idea. However, I partially agree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why unpaid work is helpful for both volunteers and society. the main reason is teenagers can get a lot of experience in their society through unpaid jobs. For instance, some young people join in an English club in Ho Chi Minh City which offers free tours for foreigners and this help them have a real conversation with foreign people and allows them to enhance their English ability. Moreover, volunteer works also might save up a budget for governments. Governments do not need to pay lots of money to clear the trash. This helps the government save money to help poor people or other welfare for the local community.

On the other hand, I believe that all teenagers should not be required to do unpaid works in their free time to help local residents. First of all, young people undergo under the pressure of study because some teachers now often spend plenty of homework for their students and require students in their class to reach a top of scores in school. Therefore, if some young people were forced to do unpaid work, they would be prone to meet stress or depression, that will cut the quality-studying at school. Moreover, some commentators disagree with young people have unpaid works while their family are very poor and need them to help.

To sum up, although volunteer jobs bring some benefit to youngsters and the community, I am completely against the idea of making it become compulsory.