Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Some people argue that universities should allow students to study subjects of their interests whilst others contend that only those proving beneficial to their future career should be adopted in the academic curriculum. Although each method has its own advantages, which will further be elucidated in this essay, I personally concur with the former viewpont.

On the one hand, there are reasons for people to hold a belief that students should study their favourite subjects. Firstly, students would have greater source of inspiration and motivation if they are allowed to study what they are enthusiastic about. They would learn more actively, preparing new lessons and doing their homework without being reminded. Also, they will feel more comfortable and be likely to focus all their efforts on studying, which means higher academic performance will ensue. (They will feel more comfortable in the classroom and will consequently push themselves to work hard and give the best academic performance possible.) Secondly, that students are able to determine on the subjects they are going to study will make it easier for them to define their strengths, optimise their potentials and subsequently achieve success in their professional life.

On the other hand, studying subjects that are likely to be favourable in the near future could be of great benefits to students. There is no desputing that such subjects as those related to science and technology is the backbone of the process of industrialisation and modernisation. Therefore, promoting such majors would strengthen and foster these processes, making the world moderner and more civillised. Another point worth mentioning is that since these subjects are supposed to be in demand in the years to come, many students’ career prospects would be greatly enhanced should they be able to equip themselves with necessary relevant knowledge. Accordingly, the quality of life and the general well-being of many students and their families could be tremendously advanced.

By way of conclusion, although studying useful subjects such as science and technology would benefit them in various ways, I believe that students should be given the right to choose and study their favourite subjects at tertiary education level.