Educated people play a significant role in making the future of a country. Whilst some people are of the opinion that it is the student’s right to select their favorite major, others believe that this is entirely wrong and it should be obligatory to study some particular subjects considered to be practical and knowledge based.

On the one hand, personal fulfillment is known as an important aspect of freedom and should therefore be respected in a democratic society. It means that everybody has this right to decide about his/her way of life. On the other hand, it is claimed that success can be achieved by multiplying talent and effort. In fact, the less you are interested in your field, the more you are required to be hard working. There are some living proofs around each of us who have undertaken years training in a particular subject but discard their certification and come back in what they have always dreamed.

Those who disagree with mentioned opinion point out that spending money in the fields which may not be lucrative in the future actually is a kind of disinvestment. It is possible to live without for example experts in history, because there have been a large number of people investigating this subject before and picking up valuable literature about that, which seems to be adequate. Supporters of this policy argue that it is more important for a country to be updated according to latest technology by training new generation instead of spending time for repeated subjects.

I personally believe that elimination some majors from the curriculum of universities is not a professional policy and maybe leads to negative results in the future. Instead of that it would be more effective if government allocated considerable scholarship for dissertation based on scientific research. For example local industries should be forced to support students by providing a grant. In addition other subjects not being useful for the future should be restricted to private sectors.

To conclude with, by preparing appropriate circumstances for those selecting knowledge-based majors to study and not removing other subjects, a right balance between individual satisfaction and development of a country will be achieved.