Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is often a dichotomy between what subjects are encouraged for university students. On the one hand, people propose that students had better pursue their interests, opting for subjects sorted according to their passion. Other critics, on the other hand, believe it is viable for students to study useful fields, science as well as technology in particular. As far as I am concerned, no matter what students choose to access, those aspects should constitute an efficient means of earning for living.

Passion is a gorgeous catalyst that promotes studying strongly, which results in a good performance. In other words, no matter how challenging the tasks are, students seem to deal with them enthusiastically. They are able to accomplish the tasks without any restrictions from external effects such as their lectures as well as their parents. Moreover, time consumption decreases considerably because this catalyst named passion is capable of promoting the speed of acquiring assignments. As a result, students not only save their time but also reach the highest performance in their subjects.

In contrast, following realistic subjects is favorable for students in the future, some critics say. It cannot be denied that the development of science and technology has been widespread still. Students can take advantage of those subjects, not only an immense range of employment vacancies in the job market but also earning income. A transparent illustration that nowadays people saw the constantly increasing applications of information technology. The Human race is in the fourth industrial revolution, also called industry 4.0 when smart technology applies in various fields such as manufacture, production, even education. Technology-related subjects, in turn, are excellent options for students’ careers.

In my opinion, it is essential for students to have a cognitive comment about their choice of subjects. It means that they can follow their passion as long as it can help in earning for living. In fact, those subjects provide primitive living conditions at least because money is a basic demand of people.

In conclusion, being allowed to pursuing own interests is always pleasant for students. However, reality should be taken into account when students opt for subjects. If their passion does not provide any useful application, their life, along with their interest, will degrade due to the devoid of money.