Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is commonly believed by many that subjects which are taught to the students at universities should not be fixed. In addition, they should be taught whatever they like. However, others think that only relatable subjects which will be needed in the future i.e. science and technology should be taught only. I think that, students should be taught a variety of subjects so that they can explore their interest.

Some people argue that, students should not be restricted by fixing their course subjects in the university. This is because university is a place for open thinking. If we bound students to study only certain topics, then they would not be able to explore different kinds of fields. Therefore, they may never be able to find on which topics their potentiality and interest lies.

On the other hand, others contradict this opinion by saying that student should focus on those topics only which will be beneficial for them in terms of career in the future. For example, machine learning is the next big thing. Therefore, students should be motivated to learn this in their university life so that they will be ahead in the job competition in the near future. This is because if they start to study all types of subjects, they will not be able to master any subjects.

In my opinion, a combination of both facts is needed to make the study interesting as well as to have a secured future. Therefore, the first two years should be spent by exploring different kinds of subjects to understand where their interest lies. Once the interested area is found, then student should focus on learning up-to-date topics related to that area.

In conclusion, learning only the useful topics will not be beneficial if the person has no interest in them. Thus, student should discover their interest and then should focus to master that particular subject.