Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars and riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Road accidents have always been a major reason for concern in many countries. It has been argued that an effective approach for developing safer roads, is by raising the legal age that is allowed for driving. From my standpoint, this is a beneficial way to tackle this issue and I share this view.

To begin with, teenagers usually lack enough responsibility to operate vehicles. During adolescent years, many are still reckless and ignorant. Therefore, a clear idea of what is wrong and what is right has not been shaped in their minds. This immaturity will thus encourage them to break laws and put lives in danger A young adult, for instance, will drive above the speed limit merely to impress his friends. If the legal age increases, juveniles will have enough time and experience to mature and develop a conscientious character.

Furthermore, driving under the influence of drugs and alcohol, which is done frequently by teenagers, is another factor that aggravates danger. In a great number of countries, unfortunately, drugs are easily accessible by juveniles. Since irresponsibility usually heightens during adolescence, many drive on drugs with no hesitation. This has fatal consequences for both the driver and the pedestrians. To illustrate, drunk teenagers are held responsible for the vast majority of car accidents in the United States annually. As minors grow up, they comprehend more about the risks of drugs. Therefore, they tend to become more cautious and realize the hazards of driving under the influence.

In conclusion, raising the minimum age will aid citizens of any country in having fewer accidents. Consequently, the well-being of residents is assured and they will all live happier and healthier lives.