Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age, for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the best way to strengthen traffic safety is to impose a higher age limit for operating personal vehicles like cars and motorbikes. However, I disagree with this school of thought given that there is a more effective way to ensure safety on the roads.

One might argue that it would be best to increase the minimum driving age to prevent young people from operating vehicles. This is because a considerable proportion of road accidents are indeed caused by young people’s reckless driving behaviours. For example, youngsters are more likely to drive under the influence or speed to impress their peers. Therefore, raising the required age for driving would ensure that individuals are mature enough before they are able to drive, hence reduced road accidents.

However, I believe that a better way to ensure road safety is to raise the difficulty of driving tests in the first place. This is because road accidents are largely attributable to insufficient knowledge about traffic laws and poor driving skills, rather than the drivers’ ages themselves. Thus, the authorities ought to make driving tests harder to ascertain that only competent drivers pass them. In addition, drivers should be required to retake the test every two years so that they can be introduced to new laws and tested on their abilities. If these policies are strictly enforced, heightening the minimum driving age will be rendered unnecessary.

In summary, while I acknowledge that raising the age limit for driving and riding motorbikes may help to diminish road accidents, it is my conviction that making driving tests more difficult and frequent is a better approach to ensure traffic safety.