Many believe that the best way to ensure a happier society is to reduce the difference in income earnings between the rich and poor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that the most effective way to render society happier is to narrow the income gap between rich and poor individuals. Personally, I agree with this notion for several reasons.

To begin with, the income inequality can become a breeding ground for social unrest and crimes such as vandalism and theft, which are key drivers behind distress and fear among society. This is because many poor individuals may be under the impression that the rich are evading taxes and stealing from them, thus potentially leading to crimes or strikes and protests against the higher class. In addition, the pay gap means that rich people are presented with more opportunities in life, while those below the poverty line are stuck with a limited number of job options. This is due largely to the fact that the former group can afford high-quality education and receive essential qualifications, while the latter cannot. Therefore, it is sensible to say that the wealth inequality must be brought down in order to eliminate the aforementioned issues and bring about happiness for society.

Moreover, the alternatives to ensuring society’s well-being would be much less effective and feasible. One option would be for the government to adopt a tough-on-crime approach by imposing strict punishments on law offenders to make society safer and happier. However, this approach fails to address the root cause of crimes, which is the income discrepancy between the rich and poor. Another option is to provide free education for everyone so that they have more chances to seek well-paying jobs and improve their lives, but this strategy is quite financially problematic, given the colossal amounts of funds it would require. Finally, the authorities can provide free entertainment like concerts and sports games for the public to help people de-stress, but it is unlikely that people who struggle to make ends meet would be able to care for entertainment.

In summary, it is my conviction that eradicating economic inequality would be the best way to achieve happiness among society.