Some people think personal happiness is directly related to economic success, while others believe this depends on other factors. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that financial success is conducive to personal joy, others think that happiness can be attributed to other factors. There is indeed a strong case to be made for both sides of the debate, which will be discussed now.

It is true that achieving economic success brings about great wealth, which certainly contributes to happiness. Given that affluent people are free to purchase anything they want and pursue their personal interests, they tend to be more satisfied and content with their lives. For instance, someone who has accumulated enough wealth to buy expensive art equipment and take professional art courses is likely to be happier than those who are passionate about arts but cannot afford such things. In addition, by acquiring financial prosperity, individuals have the means to bond with their family members and friends by giving them extravagant gifts or taking them on lavish vacations. This means that their personal relationships will be strengthened and, in turn, their well-being will be more ensured.

However, I would argue that there are many factors responsible for happiness, apart from economic wealth. Chief of these is job satisfaction, as people who are working in a job they genuinely enjoy may feel content, regardless of how much money they make. Added to this is romantic love, which is also a major contributor to one’s happiness. There is no doubt in my mind that even impoverished individuals will become happy if they can spend their lifetime standing by their romantic soulmate. Meanwhile, multiple top-class billionaires, namely Jeff Bezos and Bill Gates have recently undergone broken marriages, despite their unimaginable wealth. This begs the question of whether wealth can truly bring love and happiness.

In summary, while I acknowledge that economic success can play a vital part in happiness, it is my conviction that other factors namely job contentment and romance are of comparable importance to people’s well-being.