It is often claimed that electronic books will soon replace paper books.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that traditional books will soon be replaced by electronic ones. However, I disagree with this view for several reasons.

It is true that E-books are currently booming in popularity due largely to their convenience and portability. These qualities can be seen in how readers can install hundreds of books on the Kindle E-book reader and carry it around to read wherever they want to. However, most people are aware that this kind of book can also bring about adverse health effects for its users. To illustrate, E-book readers have to stare at the device’s screen for extended periods of time, which can cause eyestrain and other vision problems namely shortsightedness. Therefore, a majority of readers agree that the convenience of digital books are negated by the damage it can do to our health.

Proponents of the replacement of paper books by E-books often argue that the latter acts as an eco-friendly alternative to the former, which can incentivise environmentalists to purchase them. This is because a huge number of trees are cut down to produce paper for traditional books, which directly contributes to various pressing environmental issues, namely deforestation and climate change. However, E-readers require large amounts of energy, water and fossil fuels, as well as many valuable metals and minerals during productions. E-readers will also continue to consume energy after they have been produced, as they have to be charged dozens of time during their lifetime. Thus, it is sensible to say that they will not be able to substitute paper books as an “eco-friendly option”.

In summary, given the effects E-books can have on people’s health and natural resources, it is my conviction that they will never fully replace traditional books.