In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is observed that in some nations, an increasing number of adults are continuing to live in the same house as their parents even after they have graduated and started working. This phenomenon, albeit having some negative effects, can bring about tremendous benefits on both individual and societal levels,

Opponents of adults staying with their families often argue that these adults may become a burden for their parents. This is predicated on the assumption that they still rely on their parents to foot the household bills, thereby putting an additional amount of financial pressure on them. However, this line of reasoning is not sound, as adults can easily help their parents pay for rent and bills with their salaries. Moreover, considering that adults can help do household chores and take care of their parents when they are ill, it is sensible to say that parents may actually benefit from this trend.

Besides this, adults who live with their parents are almost always welcomed by the sight of their loved ones whenever they get home from work. Therefore, they may be less prone to loneliness and stress compared to those who live alone, hence improved well-being and reduced likelihood of developing mental illnesses like depression. Furthermore, since a considerable proportion of house and flat owners are young adults who have just moved out by themselves, the current problem of housing pressure will be significantly alleviated if more people choose to remain in the same house as their parents, benefiting society as whole.

In summary, it is my conviction that the drawbacks of the trend of adults living with their parents pale in comparison with the positive impact it has on both individuals and society.