Some countries are considering imposing curfews in which teenagers will not be allowed outdoors at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this policy?

It is observed that some regions in the world are considering implementing curfews to disable teenagers from going outside at night unless they are chaperoned by an adult. While I acknowledge the reasons for this proposal, I strongly disagree with it.

One might argue that imposing such policies would help to ensure teenagers’ safety. Given that criminals are more active in the nighttime and tend to target vulnerable young individuals, teenagers may face higher risks of being robbed, assaulted or kidnapped if they travel outside without an adult’s company at night. In addition, proponents of curfews often believe that teenagers should be accompanied by an adult to monitor their behaviours and prevent them from engaging in mischievous activities that usually take place after dark, namely vandalism and drug use.

However, it is my conviction that such lines of reasoning are not sound, since the curfew policy does not state that the accompanying adults have to prove themselves as capable guardians of the teenagers. This means that grown-up criminals or delinquents may actually take advantage of this policy and pretend that they are chaperoning their teenage victims. Besides, many teenagers have parents who have to work overtime and do not know any adult who is willing to accompany their children outside. Thus, imposing curfews for unescorted teenagers may bring about tremendous inconvenience and distress for them, as most of them only have time to go outside and pursue their hobbies during the night due to extended school hours.

In summary, enforcing curfews on unaccompanied teenagers at night does not necessarily guarantee their safety and may become a nuisance for those who are not acquainted with trustworthy adults. Therefore, I wholeheartedly disagree with this proposal.