Although some people contend that longer imprisonment may act as much of a deterrent against reoffending crimes, there are some vociferous opponents claiming that other justified punishments should be meted out by the justice system. I will discuss valid opinions on both sides of the argument in this essay.

Admittedly, one explanation to justify the former view would be that in terms of serious crimes such as persistent and sex offenders and murders, prison is a necessary evil, hopefully not allowing convicted criminals to roam free in the society which ensures a great public safety. Another important point is that an astonishing number of crimes have being committed by those who are suffering from psychiatric disorders like antisocial personality, psychosis and etc. Therefore, a light sentence would not act as a deterrent factor, requiring extreme measures to prevent from social crimes.

With regards to the above argument, some experts subscribe to the view that would-be criminals should repay the victims and society in a suitable manner. A number of viable propositions should be provided by the criminal justice system to rehabilitate some petty criminals more effectively. An important consideration to support this view would be that those who commit much less personal crimes like fraud and theft should not be rubbing shoulders with murders and rapists. The proof of this might be community service handed out for tax evasion or burglary. Equally, regarding the juvenile delinquency, the best remedy could be possibly imposing more flexible sentences rather than life imprisonment and capital punishment due to dire consequences they are subject to.

All things considered, from my perspective, while more stiff sentences should be imposed to hardened criminals such as murders and vandals, some conditioning method such as community service could be judged more successful than long prison term.