Although some people subscribe to the belief that career progression is of paramount importance to the people`s life, there are some voices concern about the potential adverse effects of poor communication with families and friends which I will discuss in this essay.

Admittedly, there are several reasons why some people tend to spend more time to progress up the career ladder. Firstly, career achievement is of great benefit to successfully development in the form of financial matters. This may mean that thriving in a job opportunity might give rise to better social and personal welfare, hopefully leading to an improvement in quality of life. The proof of this might be that poverty can afflict families in various forms, from the level of subsistence to the education and marriage. Secondly, pursuing a career has rewards which go beyond the material considerations. It seems quite tenable that job satisfaction may afford spiritual enrichment, thus fostering the sense of self-confidence and self-assurance.

With regards to the above argument, placing more emphasis on the effective communication with families and friends is a key illustration of rational thinking. It seems quite justifiable that such a communication is essential for absorbing ground rules and codes of conducts for social behavior and development of family structure, arguably leading to an absence of emotional and social problems, particularly for younger members of family. Nobody can deny the tremendous benefits of continuous supervision of parents for their children, ensuring well-behaved environment which might be provided for children to be well-brought up. Equally, most people would derive benefits from their families and friends in terms of career progression and financial matters.

All thing considered, one can conclude that both sides of debate are not necessarily mutually exclusive. From my point of view, sensible figures would share fairly their time with both surrounding people and career advancement.