Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences Others however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

Crime is a serious and growing problem in most societies. Certain part of the society believes that, by giving longer sentences to criminals will reduce the rate of crime. While the rests believe in alternative ways for reduction of crime. In this essay, I will discuss both the sides and present my opinion.

Firstly, if a criminal have to spend more time in the jail, they would become more aware of consequences before committing a crime. Also, doing more time in prison will provide a good opportunity to rethink his or her life choices. For example, a criminal who committed crime like a murder will require more time to rehabilitate and mix again with the society.

On the other hand there are some people believe in alternative ways for punishment. One of them is doing community services. A criminal would be helpful to society by doing community services rather than being locked up. In addition, it will provide a good way to preserve his or her mental and physical health and save some government resources.

In conclusion, both the sides provide good arguments but I believe in alternative ways. The jurisdictional system should explore more alternative methods for reduction of crime.