Some people believe that raising fuel prices is the most effective way to address global environmental issues. Although this idea could help reduce harmful fumes, I think there is some better and alternative solution to these issues.

In the first place, The increase in fuel prices not only puts a financial strain on citizens but also doesn't do much to improve the environment. First, gasoline becoming more expensive may cause companies whose top priority is making profits to increase the price of their products to cover the rising transportation cost. This results in the goods on the market becoming less affordable, and citizens have to pay more for their living expenses. Second, raising fuel costs is not the best solution since the fuel can be considered one of the necessities of humankind. No matter how costly it will be, people still willing to buy it to satisfy their demand, which fails to meet the initial purpose of saving the environment.

Another solution that can deal with environmental issues without causing people financial hardships is ensuring the quality of mass transit. For example, the government can either allocate a national budget for the equipment of modern air-conditioners inside the bus or the addition of bus routes. When people feel comfortable and convenient to use, public transportation will attract more passengers, which will reduce the number of private vehicles on the road and the harmful emissions they produce. This method is also what the Vietnamese government did in the past year. As a result, there are reports that the local atmosphere has significantly improved.

In conclusion, although we can't deny the effect of raising fuel costs, it's still not the best way to solve environmental problems. The ideal solution would be to improve the quality of the mass transit system.