Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Books represent varieties of stories, topics and other information which all contribute to human enthusiasm. However, fewer people are now immersed in books in terms of knowledge and recreation. This essay will examine two primary reasons why this is happening.

First and foremost, most people consider Internet websites relatively more convenient within the realm of knowledge as well as pastime. Evidently, people around the globe can find and upload needed material through the web. Meanwhile, seeking real books in libraries would be time-consuming, and whether the books can be obtained there is not guaranteed. For instance, I remember spending hours while searching for one particular book in several local libraries and getting nothing in the long run. This example is an indication that the majority of people find it much more convenient to use the Internet as a source of their interest.

Furthermore, books appear insignificant because most individuals devote all attention to the use of contemporary media. In fact, watching television or simply listening to audiobooks are the most prevalent preferences of most individuals. This means that they are possibly bored with reading printed books. Take television as an example; recent research has proved that over two-thirds of people tend to spend most of their time by watching favorite television programs instead of reading books they are passionate about. Consequently, the use of media seems to gradually overshadow that of books.

To conclude, people can certainly broaden the horizons by reading printed books. I, however, entirely agree that books are losing their essence within the spectrum of pastime and knowledge owing to the use of the Internet as a way of convenience and that of modern media. Whether this trend will continue or halt is something that will be of intriguing concern, but for the time being it is apparent why books seem much less crucial according to some individuals’ opinions.