Many people argue that the best way to travel in a city is by car, others believe that riding a bicycle is rather beneficial to move in the city. I believe, car definitely offers speed when a long distance is to be covered and save time to reach to a particular destination, however bicycle is perfect mode of transport when commuting the over crowded places like downtown area.

Cars are considered to be the fastest mode of transportation in a city as compared to bicycle and other public transport. However, as most of the people owns a personal vehicle, the number of cars running on the roads has been increased immensely. This situation has resulted traffic jams especially during peak hours. So, even though car offers speed, the traffic congestion caused by the frequent travelers makes it difficult to reach their destination in time. For instance, in Bangalore time taken to travel a distance of 5 km takes an hour during office time due to over crowding on the roads, which otherwise takes only 15 minutes.

On the other hand, using bicycle in congested area makes it a hassle free ride. Riding a bicycle is itself a task, as it requires lot of stamina and strength to paddle the cycle. Also, to cover long distance bicycle do not seem a viable option. However, when riding a short distance within the city, it can help to reach the final place easily, as one can ride the bicycle in narrow lane where cars are not allowed. A survey conducted by Mumbai traffic controller stated that when people have to travel short distance, a bicycle can help to reach there in 15 to 20 minutes whereas a can car takes more than an hour time.

In conclusion, a car is always a good option to travel in the outskirts of the city and when long distance are to be covered. As, in the city, the travelling time exceeds due to road blocks by excessive numbers of cars. So, when considering travelling in downtown areas, bicycle can help to reach the destination in time.