Some people think that cars should be banned in big city centres. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that governments should introduce a law to prohibit cars in metropolises. In my opinion, I completely agree with this for two main reasons. First, the restriction towards cars would lessen the negative impact on the environment and second, it contributes to road safety.

Cars are commonly known as machines including a dozen of different technologies, moving wheels and gears. In order to power them, fuels such as petroleum and diesel are of necessity, ensuring cars’ function. However, this accordingly poses a problem to the environment because of the constant amount of toxic gases released into the atmosphere, which not only worsens the air quality but it also contributes to such environmental problems as global warming. Thus, the ban on cars would improve this situation because the fewer cars hit the streets, the lesser the number of toxic gases will be released into the atmosphere.

Apart from the reason expressed above, the effect of banning cars is also beneficial to road safety because of the reduced accidents on the streets. In many developed city centres nowadays, the usage of cars among citizens is becoming evident. For example, cars in Ho Chi Minh city often account for 80% of all vehicles. This, however, increases the rate of many heart-wrenching accidents occurred to unfortunate drivers and pedestrians because people are more likely to face the risk of dangers when heading off the streets. Therefore, the restriction on cars would prevent this probability from happening in the first place, and people would no longer concern the threat of fatal accidents.

In conclusion, the opinion about whether cars should be prohibited in big centres or not is different among people’s perspective. I think that it would improve the environment and reduce the risk of accidents.