Some people think children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV at both home and school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As we all know, we can easily remember some knowledge and plots in special programs playing in television, so does kids. Thus, some people advocate an audacious idea: encouraging children to watch television frequently and regularly in order to learn effectively. But in my opinion, I don’t believe it’s a wonderful idea for students.

Of course, we have to acknowledge that numerous TV shows help us master many stranger skills and knowledge. It has been proved by scientists that colorful and dynamic screens attracting people can increase our attention and assist us to remember thing more quickly and effectively than we are in class and taught by teachers. But, it is not systematic and exhaustive to study from television owing to the separate knowledge involved in TV shows, which is not easy to be associated by students. What’s more, when watching TV, kids will be distracted easily and appeal to advertisement or other things and waste much more time. It’s unlikely for them to be engrossed in study.

For the kids who study in school, the primary mission is to study effectively and systematically. Compared with TV shows, sometimes, studying in class taught by teachers is boring, but we can communicate with teachers and ask them the question we meet directly and immediately, which is impossible when we study through television. And also, teachers can adjust their teaching modes to cultivate different and distinctive students.

In conclusion, colorful and interesting TV shows can help us remember some abstract things quickly in some extent, but there are also the multitude of things that distracts students, like advertisement. As a method for learning, it’s also not systematic. So that students should spent the majority of time on class and only watching TV in leisure time as a supplement method.